Time….definitely NOT on my side!

Truly, I have no idea WHAT the Rolling Stones were thinking when they penned a song declaring that, “Time is on my side..”.  If they were singing that in sincerity, then their lives must have been far less demanding and complicated than my own – and mine isn’t even that bad, compared to the lives of many people I know!  Every single day, I wake up with a list of about ten things that MUST get accomplished, and then sixteen or so hours later, I realize that – despite my best efforts – I haven’t even passed the half-way point in my list.  It’s a daily – hourly – struggle.  If time has EVER really been “on my side”, then I must have been too busy catching up on my list to notice.

In truth, if I were to select a song that more accurately reflects my own daily schedule, it would probably be “Fly Like an Eagle” by the Steve Miller Band, which reminds us (in words a bit more faithful to Scripture, I think), “Time keeps on slipping…into the future.”  As the opening chapter of Ecclesiastes so poetically explains to us, the world continues to maintain a regular pattern – the earth spins, the wind blows, the streams flow, the sun sets, and people die.  Time keeps marching steadily on, we are all painfully aware of this, and there’s not one single thing that any one of us can do about it.

It’s a sad truth….but, it IS a truth.  So then, what’s the good news behind this constant source of stress in our lives?  God is still sovereign!  Thankfully, though, most of the disappointing things about our lives – including its brevity – finds redemption when seen in light of the love, mercy, grace, and faithfulness of our loving heavenly Father.   We can be thankful that God’s Word offers clear, comforting passages that teach us how best to value the time that we do have.  Since many of you will likely be – like me – too busy to take time to read a lengthy article on the internet, I will limit the remainder of this article to just a few biblical passages upon which we should be meditating already.  If you feel stressed and frustrated because of the time constraints in your own day, then prayerfully consider the following passages:

“For man does not know his time.  Like fish that are taken in an evil net, and like birds that are caught in a snare, so the children of man are snared at an evil time, when it suddenly falls upon them. ” (Ecclesiastes 9:12-13)

“Wait for the LORD and keep his way….” (Psalm 37:34)

“This book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it.” (Joshua 1:8)

“He said to them, ‘It is not for you to know times or seasons that the Father has fixed by his own authority.” (Acts 1:7)

“…pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17)

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.” (Ephesians 5:15-16)

“…in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.” (Psalm 139:16)

…and, of course, there are plenty more verses that could be added here.  Regardless of which verses you might would include in this list, though, God’s Word gives us some clear reminders that we are to be seizing the opportunities that God leads us to, living life to its very fullest, enjoying the good gifts which God has bestowed upon us, and – ALWAYS – thanking God for the ways that he blesses us, as well as for who he is.  May God continue to richly bless each of us as we make further efforts to fight the clock, focus our time on the most significant items on our daily checklists, and – most of all – seize every moment that we can for the glory of God.

2 thoughts on “Time….definitely NOT on my side!

  1. Ron Dear says:

    Josh, just read your Oct.1 post about time….wow!! ( I guess you are thinking “it is about time” that he is reading my Oct.1 thoughts!! ) You have a gift and I only wish that many others had the opportunity to read and reflect on this writing. You are very talented and I want to encourage you to continue your expression and feelings of your heart in this way…..One day, I know that your talents will be duly noted and solicited… it goes without saying that I am so very proud of you!!

Leave a Reply

